Perth Adventure

I’ve finally ticked Western Australia off the list and can now say I’ve been to every state and territory in Australia. I flew over over there in late January to spend a week catching up with Contiki friends, exploring Perth and Fremantle and relaxing before starting full time work.

I stayed with my friend Jasmine. She was my tour guide for the week, #contikijasmine, and she did a fantastic job giving me an overview of the city she lives in. It was great catching up with friends from last years contiki trip. Whenever I catch up with the contiki crew it’s like seeing family I haven’t seen in too long. Catching up with everyone is always guaranteed  to be a good time.

I was in Perth for the Australia Day holiday. We started the hot day off with a paddle on our stand up paddle boards (the advantage of an inflatable board, it can travel with me), which was an adventure on its own, requiring us to be towed back in to shore by a friendly fishing boat. The afternoon and evening was spent in Mandurah, about an hour from Perth. We drank, swam and had a great time with everyone. Oh and of course we listened to the triple J hottest 100 countdown, which is tradition for Aussie day. I lost a round of beer pong then redeemed myself and won a round of beer pong. We watched as mates jumped, naked, off bridges in to the canals. A great night in great company.

Rottenest Island was definitely the biggest highlight of the trip. Can’t go to Western Australia and not visit Rottnest Island. an early start and a long, hot day, but so worth it. The day was spent enjoying the hot on our skin and taking in all the views, snorkeling in the beautiful clear blue waters, photographing the fish in their world below the surface. Only got a little bit sunburnt. We all also managed to get selfies with the cute , funny quokkas. Before leaving the island via ferry, we indulged in ice creams, banoffee  for me.

It was such an enjoyable, relaxing weekend making me so happy to see my Perth contiki friends again, along with theMelbourne    girls who came over for the Australia Day long weekend to. It just goes to show….distance means nothing when it comes to great friendships!

Leave a Reply

