Anzac Day Cookies

With ANZAC day coming up I found this post I’d started 2 years a go but never got around to publishing. In contrast to 2015, and fortunately for me, the cold weather hasn’t quite rocked up yet. We’re enjoying a rather warm Autumn.

ANZAC Day 2015:

ANZAC Day, the one time of year I actually feel like eating Anzac cookies, make that; crave them. My mum will normally bake a giant batch of the sugar and butter laden kind of Anzac cookies that we all know and love, but I must admit over the last few years my body doesn’t agree with them so much anymore.

With the cold weather turning up early this year, Anzac Day was fairly miserable outdoors (making me glad I didn’t drag my butt out of bed pre-dawn for the big Anzac memorial service). It was the perfect  day to stay indoors and bake. I baked alongside my mother. She made multiple batches of the traditional, yummy, chewy Anzac Cookie and I made my own healthy versions, with a minor tweak to the taste this year.

Right before Anzac Day, the Lorna Jane blog, http://www.movenourishbelieve.com posted a recipe for macadamia and lime cookies, so taking inspiration from the recipe, I added lime, macadamias and almonds to my own Anzac cookie recipe. A super simple gluten free Anzac biscuit recipe with a twist.

Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 cup chopped macadamias
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 125gm salt reduced butter
  • 1 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla powder or paste
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate soda
  • Zest and juice of 1 small lime
  • 1 tbsp warm water

Mix together dry ingredients in a bowl. Melt butter, honey, maple syrup over low heat until melted. Add the bicarbonate soda and stir until the mixture foams. Add lime juice, zest, water and butter mixture to dry ingredients. Mix well until all combined. Scoop out with tablespoon and form into biscuits on a lined tray. Bake in preheated oven at 160C for 20-25minutes or until golden.

_MG_2370_MG_2380_MG_2390_MG_2392

Leave a Reply

